‘Cheese Food’

"cheese food"...

“cheese food”…

When a company has to go extra lengths to  reassure you that the product they are selling is edible, then do you really even want to consider eating the stuff?!?

It seems that this spreadable ‘cheese’ is so processed and unrecognizable that the manufacture needed to list it as ‘Spreadable Cold Pack Cheese Food.’ I guess they must have had too many of their customers complaining that the were getting their cheese spread and play-dough confused or something like that.

I personally avoid foods where the product manufacture has to try to convince you that their tub of goop is actually food and meant to be eaten.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Rants

Author:Mr. Fed Up

A guy looking for good grub. and YES....I have a website...and I am not going to bore you with one of those personal journal type of blogs. I promise. Check it out; www.FedUpFood.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “‘Cheese Food’”

  1. May 15, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    It appears that it has to be called cheese food because of the fact that they probably use some dairy ingredient (like cream, milk, skim milk, buttermilk, etc.) in this product instead of just cheese. I would assume that this is to improve the spreadability. Because of that dairy, I think this is considered by the FDA to be “cold-pack cheese food”. Take out the dairy part and you have just “cold-pack cheese” or “club cheese”.

    To me adding extra dairy to this kind of thing isn’t really all that terrible, but they still legally have to call it cheese food because of FDA rules. At least the name conventions are consistent in cheese due to regulations unlike the naming conventions (or lack there of) with meat. I think every piece of beef/pork has about 10 different names and all the stores seem to use them interchangeably just to confuse us.

    In case you haven’t noticed by now, I rather enjoy researching the random stuff you come up with. Oh and here is my source for the info from the FDA. http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?cfrpart=133

    • May 16, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Well…I am impressed! Thanks for doing the research! I am always amazed at how many laws and regulations this country has…It is crazy how there can be such harsh regulations for labeling these cheese products, yet other things (like cuts of meat as you mentioned) such as sweet potatoes/yams are constantly confused!

      Even the ingredients list on some products get to remain completely confusing so that the consumer is purposely mislead. I just bought some dates and they seemed to be ‘all natural’, yet there was dextrose (spelling?) added which is bacially just sugar! A quick glance at the back of the packaging and the average Joe would have assumed no sugar was added…but if you look for the weird-words, then do some research, you find out that the things are packed with sugar! Ok…I guess I am just ranting now. sorry.

      Product labels are way too confusing.

      • elangomatt
        May 16, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        Agreed, product labels can be very confusing! Dextrose is commonly known as corn sugar, but I can see companies using dextrose to obfuscate what the ingredient is since many people have a negative reaction to anything called sugar whether it is from sugar cane, beets, or corn. Dextrose is actually the one of the reasons why the FDA denied a petition from the Corn Refiners Association (CFA) last year to change the name of HFCS to corn sugar. The CFA wanted to further confuse labels by listing HFCS as “corn sugar” since many people like HFCS even less than sugar (myself included).

        And for my second FDA link of the day, here is the a copy of the denial letter from the FDA to the CFA about changing the common name of HFCS: http://www.fda.gov/aboutFDA/CentersOffices/OfficeofFoods/CFSAN/CFSANFOIAElectronicReadingRoom/ucm305226.htm

        (And by the way, I actually didn’t have to do any research for the corn sugar/HFCS/cane sugar stuff, I figured I’d find the link to the denial just for the fun of illustrating the smack down that the CFA got from the FDA. I really hated those commercials that the CFA ran all last summer)

      • May 17, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

        Elangomatt; Your comments are ALWAYS so informative! Thanks for sharing! And I agree, as soon as I see anything with HFCS, I usually pass on it…even though it is likely the same nutritional stats as so many other sugars.

Leave a Reply

